Work package 2

WP 2 Sea Ice, Iceberg and Growler Remote Sensing

WPL: Adjunct Prof. Wolfgang Dierking (AWI/UiT) and Assoc. Prof. Anthony Doulgeris (UiT)

The objective of this work package is to further develop remote sensing methodologies and algorithms to enable detailed characterisation and mapping of Arctic sea ice conditions, and to provide improved detection and characterisation of icebergs and growlers. Within this WP CIRFA develops algorithms for:

  • Classification and characterisation of sea ice
  • Estimation of sea ice drift velocity field
  • Iceberg and growler detection and characterisation

SAR data will be the key data source in this WP as the signatures of radar backscatter from sea ice and ice objects, such as icebergs, are highly correlated with physical ice properties such as salinity, temperature, wetness, thickness, roughness and degree of deformation. Studies will focus on the analysis of polarimetric parameters and decomposition techniques, on tracking ice drift and variations of sea ice conditions, and on multivariate statistical properties and anomaly detection. An important aspect of this study is the use of multi-frequency radar data and their fusion with optical and IR instrument data for sea ice applications.

The methodologies, tools and products developed within WP2 will be integrated with the modelling activities of WP5 to produce information products for the pilot services of WP7.

image

 

WP2 members

Adjunct Prof. Wolfgang Dierking

WP2 leader, AWI/UiT

Wolfgang.Dierking@awi.de
+49 471 4831 1714

Prof. Torbjørn Eltoft

Centre leader, UiT

torbjorn.eltoft@uit.no
+47 776 45184

Jean Negrel

Post doc, NPI

jean.negrel@npolar.no
+47 777 50500

Johannes Lohse

PhD fellow, UiT

johannes.p.lohse@uit.no
+47 776 45180

Vahid Akbari

Associate Postdoc, UiT

vahid.akbari@uit.no

Anca Cristea

Associate Postdoc, UiT

anca.cristea@uit.no

Katalin Blix

Associate PhD fellow, UiT

katalin.blix@uit.no
+47 77645197

Xu Xu

Associate PhD fellow, UiT

xu.xu@uit.no

Jakob Grahn

Associate PhD fellow, UiT

jakob.grahn@uit.no
Print Friendly

Leave a Reply